## First 5 Commission of San Diego December 17, 2024 Appointment of Finance Committee Members and Alternates

## Background:

On October 13, 2003 (Item 5), the Commission directed staff to form a standing Commission finance committee that minimally included the Commission's Executive Director and Operations Manager, a staff member from the County's Auditor and Controller's Office, a community member with finance skills, a member of the business community, and a representative of the Commission Chair.

The Finance Committee has been meeting monthly since December 2003. On November 6, 2006 (Item 9) the Commission approved the Finance Committee Membership Policy F5C-017, which requires that the Finance Committee have a minimum of 3 and a maximum of 6 voting members. These members are to include:

- An Employee of the County of San Diego Finance and General Government Group
- An Employee of the County of San Diego Treasurer-Tax Collector's Office
- An Employee of the County of San Diego Health & Human Services Agency
- A CPA familiar with government and nonprofit contracting
- At-large appointment (2).

All appointments must be approved by the Commission no later than March of each year. The Chair and Vice-Chair are to be appointed for a two-year term in January of each odd-numbered year but no later than March.

## **Recommendation:**

1) Appoint the following members to the Finance Committee for the 2025 and 2026 calendar years.

Name	Title	Affiliation	Expertise	Position	Alternate
Ricardo Macedo	Senior Vice President & Commercial Banking Manager	Banner Bank	Business and Banking Management	Member familiar with Governmental Accounting	TBD
Charissa Japlit	Group Finance Director	County of San Diego, Health and Human Services Agency	Budget Management	Member from the County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency	Maryneeza Moraleja Asst. Group Finance Director HHSA
Vacant	Community Member	Commission Community Member	TBD	At-large appointment by the Commission	N/A
Tracy Drager	Auditor & Controller	County of San Diego, Finance and General Government Group	Fiscal Planning and Management	Member from the County of San Diego Finance and General Government Group	Julie Bjerke Manager, Auditor & Controller
RC (Richard) Kinzly	Chief Investment Officer	County of San Diego Treasurer- Tax Collector's Office	Investment Management	Member from the County of San Diego Treasurer-Tax Collector's Office	Kevin Foley Investment Officer Treasurer/Tax Collector

 Appoint Ricardo Macedo, Senior Vice President & Commercial Banking Manager, as the Chairperson, and Charissa Japlit, Group Finance Director for HHSA as the Vice-Chairperson of the Finance Committee for calendar years 2025 and 2026.

## **Fiscal Impact:**

None.