1 Action	 Annual Appointments of Commission Officers Supporting Document Overview: Each year the Board of Supervisors appoints the new Commission member-at-large who serves a 2-year term. This year Supervisor Ron Roberts reappointed Carol Skiljan in November 2017 to continue as a member of the First 5 Commission for calendar years 2018 and 2019. In Section 7 of the Commission By-Laws it states that the member of the Board of Supervisors serving on the Commission shall also serve as the Chair of the Commission. In 2018, Supervisor Dianne Jacob will chair the First 5 	
	Section 7 also requires the Commission to elect a Vice Chair and Secretary from its membership. The By-Laws state that the officers shall be nominated by the Commission Chair and shall be selected at the first meeting of the calendar year. A copy of the Commission's By-Laws is provided in the supporting materials for this item (Item 1).	Executive Director Arguilez
	 Staff Recommendation: 1) Accept Chairwoman Jacob's nomination of Commissioner Carol Skiljan to serve as the Vice Chair of the Commission for the 2018 calendar year. 2) Accept Chairwoman Jacob's nomination of Commissioner Sandra McBrayer to serve as the Secretary of the Commission for the 2018 calendar year. 	
	Fiscal Impact: None	