First 5 Commission of San Diego October 17, 2016 Annual Appointment of Finance Committee Members

Background:

On October 13, 2003 (Item 5), the Commission directed staff to form a standing Commission finance committee that minimally included the Commission's Executive Director and Operations Manager, a staff member from the County's Auditor and Controller's Office, a TPAC member with finance skills, a member of the business community, and a representative of the Commission Chair.

The Finance Committee has been meeting monthly since December 2003. On November 6, 2006 (Item 9) the Commission approved the Finance Committee Membership Policy F5C-017, which requires that the Finance Committee have a minimum of 3 and a maximum of 6 voting members. These members are to include:

- An Employee of the County of San Diego Finance and General Government Group
- An Employee of the County of San Diego Treasurer-Tax Collector's Office
- An Individual Identified by the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce
- An Employee of the County of San Diego Health & Human Services Agency
- A CPA familiar with government and nonprofit contracting
- At-large appointment.

All appointments must be approved by the Commission no later than March of each year. The Chair and Vice-Chair are to be appointed for a two-year term in January of each odd-numbered year but no later than March.

Recommendation:

Name	Title	Affiliation	Expertise	Position
Amy Thompson	Assistant	County of San Diego,	Budget	Member from the County of
	Finance	Health and Human	Management	San Diego Health and
	Director	Services Agency		Human Services Agency
Fred Baranowski	Senior Vice	Banner Bank	Business	At-large appointment by the
	President		Management	Commission
Tracy Drager	Asst. Auditor	County of San Diego,	Fiscal Planning	Member from the County of
	& Controller	Finance and General	and	San Diego Finance and
		Government Group	Management	General Government Group
Rob Castetter	Chief	County of San Diego	Investment	Member from the County of
	Investment	Treasurer-Tax	Management	San Diego Treasurer-Tax
	Officer	Collector's Office		Collector's Office

1) Appoint the following members to the Finance Committee for the 2017 and 2018 calendar years.

 Appoint Fred Baranowski, Senior Vice President, Banner Bank, as the Chairperson, and Amy Thompson, Assistant Finance Director of HHSA as the Vice-Chairperson of the Finance Committee for calendar years 2017 and 2018.

Fiscal Impact: None