1 Action

Annual Appointments of Commission Officers Supporting Document

Overview:

Each year the Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors appoints the new Commission member-at-large who serves a 2-year term. This year, Chairman Roberts reappointed Sandra McBrayer in December 2016 to continue as a member of the First 5 Commission for calendar years 2017 and 2018.

In Section 7 of the Commission By-Laws it states that the member of the Board of Supervisors serving on the Commission shall also serve as the Chair of the Commission. In 2017, Supervisor Ron Roberts will chair the First 5 Commission of San Diego.

Section 7 also requires the Commission to elect a Vice Chair and Secretary from its membership. The By-Laws state that the officers shall be nominated by the Commission Chair and shall be selected at the first meeting of the calendar year. A copy of the Commission's By-Laws is provided in the supporting materials for this item (Item 1).

Executive Director Gallo

Staff Recommendation:

- Accept Chairman Robert's nomination of Commissioner Carol Skiljan to serve as the Vice Chair of the Commission for the 2017 calendar year.
- Accept Chairman Robert's nomination of Commissioner Sandra McBrayer to serve as the Secretary of the Commission for the 2017 calendar year.

Fiscal Impact:

None