1 Action

Annual Appointments of Commission Officers

Overview:

Each year in December, the Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors appoints the new Commission member-at-large, who serves a 2-year term. This year, Chairwoman Slater-Price reappointed Sandra McBrayer to continue as a member of the First 5 Commission.

In Section 7 of the Commission By-Laws it states that the member of the Board of Supervisors serving on the Commission shall also serve as the Chair of the Commission. In 2011, Supervisor Pam Slater-Price will chair the First 5 Commission of San Diego.

Additionally, Section 7 requires the Commission to elect a Vice Chair and Secretary from its membership. The By-Laws state that the officers shall be nominated by the Commission Chair and shall be selected at the first meeting of the calendar year. A copy of the Commission's By-Laws is provided in the supporting materials for this item (Item 2-1).

Staff Recommendation:

- Accept Chairwoman Slater-Price's nomination of Commissioner Carol Skiljan to serve as the Vice Chair of the Commission for the 2011 calendar year.
- Accept Chairwoman Slater-Price's nomination of Commissioner Sandra McBrayer to serve as the Secretary of the Commission for the 2011 calendar year.

Fiscal Impact:

None

Executive Director Jiménez

> Martin Cherry Operations Manager